Coil + Drift Receives 2016 ICFF Editors' Award for Best New Designer

Coil + Drift Receives Prestigious ICFF Editors’ Award

New York, N.Y. (May 18, 2016) ­­– Emerging design studio, Coil + Drift, has received the highly coveted and industry prestigious ICFF® Editors’ Award for Best First Time Exhibitor.  The award recognizes the young studio, helmed by dancer-turned-designer John Sorensen-Jolink, as the best and most innovative new exhibitor at ICFF 2016.  Past winners of the award include Rich Brilliant Willing (2011), Egg Collective (2012), Souda (2014), and Pepe Heykoop (2015).

The 2016 ICFF Editors’ Award winners were announced and presented by the Editor Judging Committee:

About Coil + Drift

Based in Brooklyn, NY, Coil + Drift is the design studio of John Sorensen-Jolink, an acclaimed modern-dancer-turned-designer who performed with contemporary choreographers and directors such as Robert Wilson, Lucinda Childs, and Twyla Tharp before beginning his self-taught design practice three years ago.  The studio creates luxurious American-made contemporary furniture, lighting, and accessories that emphasize creative form, sustainability and effortless functionality.  Their collection is designed using the unique spacial awareness of a dancer and choreographer to create hand-crafted items that give energy to a space in a new and refreshing way.

About ICFF®

ICFF® is the premier North American global Design showcase for interior furniture, seating, carpet and flooring, lighting, outdoor furniture, materials, wall coverings, accessories, textiles, kitchen and bath and fabricators, attracting more than 700 exhibitors and 33,000 attendees from around the world. The 28th annual ICFF happened May 14-17, 2016, at New York City’s Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. Visit for more information.